DIY suction cap for lens disassembling

WP_20160219_19_44_51_Pro

In fact, I didn’t wanted to make it. I just wanted to buy a tool for disassemble a very expensive lens (a Canon 85mm F1.2).
Unfortunately, the tool was not available in short time. Here is the link to the original (32 USD – but in the USA…):

 http://www.micro-tools.com/product.htm?pid=142753&cat=14016

image

But I need the tool now. Ok, what are the keywords? Suction and vacuum. Let google for it.

image

After some research, I have found a pneumatics distributor in my city, who has some suction cups (for packaging industry etc.).

I have gone to the shop, and they offered me this one, for 10 USD:
https://www.piab.com/Products/suction-cups/shape/flat-concave/fc—flat-concave-20-150-mm/0104803/

image

Good. The material is perfect, as you can see: “DURAFLEX® suction cups manufactured in a specially developed material that features the elasticity of rubber and wear resistance of polyurethane. The material does not leave any marks on the objects handled.”

But I needed a vacuum-source too, a kind of handle for it. Well, I work in the automotive industry, and we hade on the shelf a damaged fuel hand-pump. Unused, but the valve has been damaged.

Exactly like this one, for ca. 4 USD: http://www.ebay.com/itm/8MM-Black-Fuel-Primer-Bulb-Hand-Pump-Diesel-Petrol-Gas-Priming-For-Vehicle-Car-/371488272748?hash=item567e6d316c:g:AAQAAOSwZVhWSk0R&vxp=mtr

image

Well, I just pushed the suction cup on the and – and was perfect, excepting the fact,that the aluminum tube was protruding into the inside of the cup.
Ok, I just had to cut it.

But.….

I have a good old Russian lathe. So in approx. 1 hour I made the suction tube from a piece of 20mm diameter aluminum bar like this pictures:

WP_20160219_19_41_49_Pro  WP_20160219_19_41_10_Pro 

WP_20160219_19_42_07_Pro  WP_20160219_19_44_04_Pro

WP_20160219_19_44_20_Pro

 

And works perfect.

About canonrepair

Ruzsa János. Amatőr fotós, Canon DSLR váz. Amateur photographer. Canon DSLR user.
This entry was posted in DIY, lens, tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Opinion, question?

