Canon 40d – nightmare

At the moment i have only a 40d camera, which I use for the service-work too. Two days later I will go to a trip, so I wanted to check the AF etc. I connected to the PC, started the SPT software, but in the same time I worked on something else too – and the computer went to stadby – during started communication with the 40d.

Ok, 40d is not so sensitive, I started the program again – and the camera started to have a strange behavior. Sometimes was not reacting at all, then not going into Liveview mode, then giving ERR99 after shooting….After a half on hour of struggling, firmware update, digital data transfer from a former backup etc. etc I diceded to disassemble the camera, as the failercode was always communication error between internel boards.

I have found of course nothing, but I opened and closed all flexcable sockets, then I assembled the camera – and everithing was OK! As the body was already open I changed the exposure buttons switch and I greased the big wheel on the back cover.

I glued the rubber cover with some double sided adhesive tape (I hate this – and it was a perfectly meaningless work, still it has not to be paid…). Anyway, I finished this in approx 2 hours.

The camera was working!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And today I realised, that I have forgotten to back a small flex cable on the backcover – in the inside.

Disassembling again, 2 seconds the “repair” – and then glueing again the rubber cover  🙂

Never give up. A bad electrical contact can produce any idiot sympthome. Just check all the sockets always twice.

 

 

About canonrepair

Ruzsa János. Amatőr fotós, Canon DSLR váz. Amateur photographer. Canon DSLR user.
This entry was posted in General topics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canon 40d – nightmare

  1. Chris says:

    What type of grease do you use for the selector dial? Dielectric, Lithium, etc?

Opinion, question?

