Water penetration 600d

Thye body has got some rainwater at Wednesday – after that it was beeping by any button activations. I disassembled it Friday – son only after 2 days.

I the inside I couldn’t find anything till the last moment. The really last part was the flash / DC-DC board. On it’s lower side was a corroded socket and a flat cable.

I have no idea, why the rainwater causes this quick corrosion. .Do we really have acid rain in Hungary, or was it a former salt patch, from a water penetration in the past, dissolved by the rainwater?….

IMG_5732  IMG_5730

IMG_5733  IMG_5728

About canonrepair

Ruzsa János. Amatőr fotós, Canon DSLR váz. Amateur photographer. Canon DSLR user.
This entry was posted in General topics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Water penetration 600d

  1. Infel says:

    Hi, I had exactly the same problem. I was photographing waves at seaside. A big one came and splashed a bit the camera. I put it to the sun and it worked, the second day I had to put it again on the direct sun, water evaporated and I manged to have a camera during my holiday. After that it was dead. Out the warranty also…
    That part attracts somehow the water… There was the only part affected… And yes it’s scary…
    Did you find a replacement part for it? I found only this but it’s an older version of the board.
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Canon-EOS-600D-EOS-Rebel-T3i-EOS-Kiss-X5-BATTERY-CASE-PCB-BOARD-DC-DC-NEW-/360592996684
    I have exactly the blue version without sockets, not the green one.
    Infel

    • canonrepair says:

      ouuups.
      I have even the blue one! In fact, I was not thinking too much about it, as the form is the same, on the intermnet was sold as a 600d DC-DC board. I think now is on the way to Hungary (normally I don’t order parts from the internet for my customers). We will see now, if it works or not.

      • Infel says:

        Hi,
        I also ordered a part like you described. Our blue board has the wires soldered directly on the board without “shoes”. I hope it will work.
        Ah one more thing when I tried to contact the Canon service, they said that this part is not manufactured anymore so they cannot order it… interesting… How do they provide the service then?
        Good luck with your fix also.
        Infel

  2. jabcam says:

    Interesting that such small amount of water renders it completely dead. And a bit scary too…

Opinion, question?

