Lens disassembling tools – roller extractor clamp

Célszerszám optika szétszereléshez – görgő kiszerelő fogó

In the last five years one of the most difficult operation was the extracting of the stucked rollers from the lens barrel. I tried with screwdriver, with a cutter-blade from the outside, and with screw nails from the inside – poor results, damaged rollers.

Yesterday I took a pair of tweezers (an unused one, which was in a screwdriver set), and in 15 minutes I made of it a very usable roller extractor.

 WP_000136  WP_000139 

At first, I cutted the rounded end with a small grinding machine, then I bended the two ends with 45 degrees backwards. After I shaped the two ends like a cutting pliers – but very important:  in a round form. This way the tweezers will lie perfectly on the cylindrical surface of the roller.

   WP_000130  WP_000141

Make it for yourself – the invested work will return immediately after the first disassembled lens.

About canonrepair

Ruzsa János. Amatőr fotós, Canon DSLR váz. Amateur photographer. Canon DSLR user.
This entry was posted in General topics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lens disassembling tools – roller extractor clamp

  1. Ric hard A says:

    Thank you for the excellent tip on how to build this “extractor tool”! It worked very well and helped me get over a tricky phase disassembling my Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8.

  2. Hi thanks for your insight for dismantling canon lens. In fact, I got some idea following your blog, and yes, I’m now a bit puzzled on how to remove the last 6 roller on 55-250 to replace the aperture flex cable. By reading this I might get some ideas. Thankyou!

Opinion, question?

